Bitcoin Forum
February 16, 2019, 12:19:43 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S9 Volt Rocket Ship firmware mod! ~ALL S9 MODELS INCLUDING S9i S9j~  (Read 13207 times)
Bill48105
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 8


View Profile
December 12, 2018, 10:26:20 PM
Last edit: December 13, 2018, 10:47:21 AM by frodocooper
 #401

[...]

Hi! actually in the source code there is an error that modifies the "firmware" of the PIC32, this peak precisely manages the tenssion of the chains ... even if you followed the program, this error was inevitable, I was also trapped ! just like dollemizer and the others;)

to my knowledge, only one solution (for the moment), I explain everything here: http://fonstavka.com/index.php?topic=5032987.0

Wow yeah that surely seems like the same issue.. Thanks for the heads up!  I'll read thru that thread but at 1st glace it seems pretty straight forward but stinks can't flash it with software..  I'll reply to your thread instead of there though. Thanks!
1550276383
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550276383

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550276383
Reply with quote  #2

1550276383
Report to moderator
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550276383
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550276383

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550276383
Reply with quote  #2

1550276383
Report to moderator
1550276383
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550276383

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550276383
Reply with quote  #2

1550276383
Report to moderator
thierry4wd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 56


View Profile
December 12, 2018, 10:45:42 PM
 #402

with pleasure ! trust me I knew these minor very well (to repair and modify them) and the problem comes from the, without any doubt;)
Bill48105
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 8


View Profile
December 13, 2018, 12:26:47 AM
Last edit: December 13, 2018, 10:47:59 AM by frodocooper
 #403

I am going to take a look at this today.  I wrote / modified a program to help restore the pic firmware on an L3+ ( http://github.com/darval/bitmain-tools ) and I am going to see if I can modify it to work for a T9+.  The pic is a microcontroller on each hash board.  Usually when it (bmminer) tries to get the version and it fails (-1 or 0xff), it means the pic firmware got trashed.  My program has a mode to try to restore it.  It currently doesn't work on the T9+, so don't try it yet, but if I am successful, I will update it and post about it here.  Then you can try it out.  Like anything, this stuff is all use at your own risk. Smiley

Hi darval, did you ever get something working with your tool & the T9+? few posts back you can see link to where thierry4wd posted a how-to with PICKIT 3 & MPLAB X IPE along with a HEX dump from working card using that tool so hoped to be able to flash my broken card with software.. Save me ordering & waiting for a pickit.  I'm tempted to convert his hex file to the format of the txt file but I wasn't sure if the format of the text file caused the corruption to begin with.  (I doubt the antminer monitoring script auto-rebooting mid flash helped.. x(  I mean single-board-test & bmminer obviously can flash the boards to store settings & messed up the boards so would think it should be possible to flash them back correctly.  I've monkeyed around with the source of both of those & get the basic idea of what's going on (I disabled the auto-flashing in both so I could get my miner up & running on chains 4 13 & 14 at least.  The latest official firmware just auto-reboots over & over when it has heartbeat failures so made my T9+ worthless.)  So maybe I'll order a PICKIT 3 and while I wait try hacking away at the source to see if I can get anywhere in the meantime but hoped someone had a working software-only solution already Smiley
Thanks
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 111


Mining since 2011


View Profile
December 13, 2018, 08:50:27 PM
Last edit: December 14, 2018, 10:22:47 AM by frodocooper
 #404

Hi darval, did you ever get something working with your tool & the T9+? few posts back you can see link to where thierry4wd posted a how-to with PICKIT 3 & MPLAB X IPE along with a HEX dump from working card using that tool so hoped to be able to flash my broken card with software.. Save me ordering & waiting for a pickit.  I'm tempted to convert his hex file to the format of the txt file but I wasn't sure if the format of the text file caused the corruption to begin with.  (I doubt the antminer monitoring script auto-rebooting mid flash helped.. x(  I mean single-board-test & bmminer obviously can flash the boards to store settings & messed up the boards so would think it should be possible to flash them back correctly.  I've monkeyed around with the source of both of those & get the basic idea of what's going on (I disabled the auto-flashing in both so I could get my miner up & running on chains 4 13 & 14 at least.  The latest official firmware just auto-reboots over & over when it has heartbeat failures so made my T9+ worthless.)  So maybe I'll order a PICKIT 3 and while I wait try hacking away at the source to see if I can get anywhere in the meantime but hoped someone had a working software-only solution already Smiley
Thanks

As of right now I think that is the current solution.

Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
Bill48105
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 8


View Profile
December 13, 2018, 10:38:28 PM
Last edit: December 14, 2018, 10:23:03 AM by frodocooper
 #405

As of right now I think that is the current solution.

Ok thanks. It'd be cool to get a hex file made that could be used to reflash cards that have this happenbut I ordered a pickit3 since bitmain support was hung up on warranty status of my unit rather than understanding what happened or providing much help but we'll see. Supposedly my issue was being escalated although not holding my breath. lol  It seems the new "low power" T9+ firmware is built to auto-reboot if it doesn't find heartbeat of all 3 cards though which is very annoying when trying to test single boards..  I ended up tweaking the old available source a bit & running that with 1 working card for now. It boots up & mines WAYYY faster than the official version even when the cards were working. I do need to measure power usage at wall to see how much I'm losing out on vs the new low power version but that one won't run without all 3 working cards installed so can't test that until/unless I get my other 2 cards repaired.
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 111


Mining since 2011


View Profile
December 27, 2018, 02:13:15 PM
 #406

Does anyone one want sub 8.6v mods as well for underclocking. The 8.7 is a slight underclock but 8.6 seems stable and seems to outperform the eco miner or whatever it is called.

Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
AniceInovation
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 380
Merit: 253


Interesting.


View Profile
December 27, 2018, 06:21:17 PM
 #407

*raises hands* i would

zecrac
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 02, 2019, 08:08:40 PM
 #408

can I use this firmware on the antminer S9 13THs version

cus I get confused with all this info regarding 13.5 14th but nobody mention the 13th.

thanks for your explanation
Andartis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 256
Merit: 5


View Profile
January 03, 2019, 03:43:57 AM
 #409

It is not a firmware, it is a modded bmminer. you can use it on 13TH models. I also use it on 13 TH models. You just have to find out the sweet spot concerning voltage. Depending on what you want: undevolting or overclocking. Dont do it, if you dont know what you are doing.
lizarddesign
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 09, 2019, 05:19:50 PM
Last edit: January 10, 2019, 10:04:54 AM by lizarddesign
 #410

hi, is this mod usable for s9j?

in the title you said this include s9j, but in github you noted "This is made for the 13.5th and 14th S9." not 14.5th!
and also i don't know where to find a fixed frequency firmware for s9j. they are all auto freq.
Sierra8561
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 11, 2019, 08:51:11 PM
 #411

*raises hands* i would

So would I.
thierry4wd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 56


View Profile
January 12, 2019, 11:16:55 PM
Last edit: January 15, 2019, 12:36:50 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #412

Do you enjoy, I just compiled it for you :

-870mv
-860mv
-850mv
-840mv

with the source code ...

Download package here : http://www.k-upload.fr/afficher-fichier-2019-01-13-17eaa316fbmminers9dow.zip.html

to pleasure!
danyalbmw
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 13, 2019, 04:21:16 AM
 #413

would you add higher frequencies to the firmware? like 825 or 850??
AniceInovation
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 380
Merit: 253


Interesting.


View Profile
January 13, 2019, 01:41:06 PM
Last edit: January 15, 2019, 12:38:36 AM by frodocooper
 #414

Do you enjoy, I just compiled it for you...

Are these based on the new power-save firmware bitmain released few months ago?
Does it have Dev fee?

thierry4wd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 56


View Profile
January 13, 2019, 07:03:34 PM
 #415

No, is based on old source whith no LPM or Asicboost.... And i make it with the ORIGINAL source, so, without devfee ... at the same to taserz but just change voltage...
rre_za
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 14, 2019, 06:39:35 PM
 #416

hi, is this mod usable for s9j?

in the title you said this include s9j, but in github you noted "This is made for the 13.5th and 14th S9." not 14.5th!
and also i don't know where to find a fixed frequency firmware for s9j. they are all auto freq.

have u tried that on s9j ?
anyone has any idea if s9i mod can be used for s9j ?
btc2017btc2017
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 166
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 17, 2019, 08:04:56 PM
 #417

Is there a version for the T15?
thierry4wd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 56


View Profile
January 17, 2019, 08:42:18 PM
 #418

she is not ready to be available in my humble opinion lol! have always been waiting for the source of the AB;)
mina1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 18, 2019, 11:01:05 PM
 #419

Does it work on the s9 hydro?

TKs
thierry4wd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 56


View Profile
January 19, 2019, 11:30:57 PM
Merited by mikeywith (1)
 #420

NO ! the hashboard of S9 HYDRO is totaly not same .... DO NOT TRY IT ! Wink
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!