Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2018, 02:59:58 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3-phase power potential problems.  (Read 147 times)
CyberHashTech
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 04, 2018, 06:10:49 PM
 #1

My newest problem: I am about to add a 1000 Amp service to my building for running miners, my problem is the service will be 3-phase and the miners run 240v single phase, how do I get from 3-phase 408v to single phase 240v?

I've seen some 3-phase PDUs, is this what I need?

Obviously, I need to balance the load or it will burn the transformer out.

Thanks in advance, Frank
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540004398
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540004398

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540004398
Reply with quote  #2

1540004398
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1168

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
October 04, 2018, 07:01:57 PM
 #2

If you've got 3-phase wye at 408V line-line, your line-neutral should be 240V.

Three-phase comes in so many different configurations of source and voltage you'll have to explain your setup a little better to get good advice. And also hope NotFuzzyWarm is paying attention. That guy knows things.

Got a new 28-90GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
October 05, 2018, 01:05:44 PM
Merited by suchmoon (4), HagssFIN (1), Steamtyme (1)
 #3

Who, lil ol' me?
Firstly, considering the amount of power you are adding I assume you ARE using a licensed electrical contractor right? If so - they already know what you need to have done and can explain it to you... Something like this is NOT for DIY!

 As Sidehack said, assuming you are getting wye (aka star) incoming service then you will already have 240VAC from each phase to the Neutral so that part is fine.

If the incoming is delta then you will need a transformer to change that from the 408 delta to 208-240V and gets a little more complicated: If you do not need any 110v service then the transformer can be for 208-240V phase-to-phase with no Neutral connections

From the incoming service entrance, split off into a few main 3-phase feeders @ around 250-500A each to feed distribution breaker panels filled with 20A breakers. As for balancing, as long as the breaker panels are mostly used only to feed miners and all breakers are same size they will balance themselves out as you add breakers. The slots go L1, L2, L3, L1, L2, L3, etc.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
EncoreMining
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 4


View Profile
October 09, 2018, 12:12:02 PM
 #4

Whoa that’s a lot of power. Like Fuzzy said you need to use a licensed electrician. Rule of thumb, if it hums hire someone. 480v is no joke and should be dealt with accordingly. What you are trying to do is easy as long as they are legit. Good luck.
CyberHashTech
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 09, 2018, 02:46:51 PM
 #5

Thanks! We're also setting up some large natural gas gen-sets and your answers helped with that too.

We're going to be using a primary transformer to step down the 480v to 240v. Thanks again!
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
October 11, 2018, 04:25:10 AM
 #6

Ah, 480VAC -- not 408 as you originally posted.
Ja for that you definitely need a transformer to bring you down to 208-220v as 480v 3-phase puts phase-to-neutral voltage at nearly 280v. Again, for distribution panels feeding only 208-240v miners, fan motors, whatever, then you do not need to run a neutral wire to them, only need the 3 lines and ground. Only panels that you want to split off 110v need a neutral wire.

For what it's worth, 380-410VAC is a recognized voltage standard for various parts of the world hence the initial mixup.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
CyberHashTech
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 11, 2018, 04:20:43 PM
 #7

Yeah that was my bad, we have 408v 3-phase coming in our building and 480v 3-phase coming off our gen-sets.

Thanks for the help!
mikeywith
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 22


View Profile
October 11, 2018, 10:01:40 PM
 #8

My newest problem: I am about to add a 1000 Amp service to my building for running miners, my problem is the service will be 3-phase and the miners run 240v single phase, how do I get from 3-phase 408v to single phase 240v?

I've seen some 3-phase PDUs, is this what I need?

Obviously, I need to balance the load or it will burn the transformer out.

Thanks in advance, Frank

I am not sure if you are from U.S where everything seems to be measured differently , but talking from an international standard of electricity , a 3 phase set up usually comes in 4 wires  ( 3 phase and 1 neutral wire ) . now anything you measure between the neutral wire and the phase is 220v ( based on 3 phase = 380V). which is the exact set up i have here.

so what you have to do is.  get 3 main circuit breaker , connect each phase ( wire that is not neutral ) to 1 breaker. and then you going to treat each of the 3 breaker as a different source of 220v, of coz do not forget to pass the neutral to every breaker as well.

excuse my poor vocabulary but i hope you get the picture.

Bitrated user: Mikeywith.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!